One Headlight

A memoir from Cirque Press (2021)

Indiebound | Bookshop | Astoria Bookshop | Amazon

Interviews & Profiles

Reviews & Praise

“[An] inspirational story of resilience and fortitude” —Chelsea News New York

 “An affecting and surprising remembrance about the responsibilities of parents and children.” —Kirkus

“Like no other book I have read. It will entertain you as it crushes you.” —Martha Amore, author of In the Quiet Season & the Lambda-nominated anthology Building Fires in the Snow

“Depictions of working-class, poverty-level Alaska [that] counterbalance the usual tropes of Alaska as a sublime wilderness.” —Anchorage Daily News

“Quirky humor, bright language, and sharp emotional insight.” —Joe Okonkwo, author of Jazz Moon, winner of the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

“[A heartfelt coming-of-age memoir] …. One Headlight well illuminates the necessary pain of separating from our mothers to become who we are—and the way we continually return to them, and to who we were, to understand who that is.” — Red Hook Star-Revue

“More than another coming-of-age story. It is a love letter to his mother, Abby, a lively woman, who navigates the world with humor and humility, doing her best with the hand she was dealt, both for herself and for the son she so clearly adores.” — Lucian Childs, author of Dreaming Home

“A beautiful, moving queer coming-of-age memoir set in Alaska with a narrative voice that is funny, sensitive and emotionally sharp. For fans of Garrard Conley, Garth Greenwell and Brandon Taylor.” — Naheed Phiroze Patel, author of Mirror Made of Rain

%d bloggers like this: